Announcement: Accelerated Posting Schedule

by tigermanifesto

I have been rather more infrequent in posting on this blog than I would like. To help reenergize myself and get in the habit of writing every day, I will be doing a whole week of posting once per day. These articles will be just as extensive as the normal weekly output I’ve been managing for the past few months, but I will release it daily rather than once every ten days or so.

As an added incentive for myself, I will list the names and subject matters of each coming post below. The plan is to publish about three times per week from here on, which has been a sweet spot for me for quite awhile. I admit that laziness and lack of focus have been the main reasons why I have not been able to meet my previous standards. After all, when I was at the peak of productivity for this blog, I was writing two articles weekly for the school paper and school assignments at the same time; I have far more time on my hands than I once did, but also far less discipline, which I hope to rectify with a blitz of articles followed by a more measured standard of output. More details are on the way, but here are the topics I will be covering:

Monday, March 20: Introduction to my series of articles on Ralph Bakshi’s entire filmography, which will hopefully be comprehensive despite the fact that some of his films are out of print or difficult to find. For instance, none of his film work is at the library of the local university. If I have to interrupt the series because I can’t get a copy of Hey Good Lookin’, I’ll be sure to let everyone know.

Tuesday, March 21: I will be reviewing Cyber-Proletariat, a new book about the information economy and its discontents as well as its structural qualities by Nick Dyer-Witheford. It’s attacking the issue from an autonomist Marxist perspective, which, while different from my own, has been quite illuminating. More to come in the actual post.

Wednesday, March 22: The proper start of the Ralph Bakshi series, since the introduction will mainly be outlining a schedule for that series, putting out some of my general impressions of his work and historical significance for the art of animation, and some framing concepts that I will be using to analyze his work. This Wednesday will begin with a proper review of his first feature, Fritz the Cat, which set up the remainder of his career and made his reputation both with audiences and in his own artistic/professional community.

Thursday, March 23: Another book review, this time of Gabriel Kuhn’s Life Under the Jolly Roger, an excellent and brief study of pirate life and ideals from an anarchist author based in Sweden. I read the entire book in one sitting just today, so my impressions of it are still quite vivid, which should help make this engaging reading.

Friday, March 24: Bakshi entry number two. This one will focus on his second film and self-proclaimed best film Heavy Traffic. 

Saturday, March 25: Another entry in my series of reviews of Japanese environmental histories, this time working through an article about the Japanese whaling industry by scholar Jakobina Arch.

Sunday, March 26: This article will be more generally political and focus on how my political perspective and position as a historian intersect. It’s well-trod territory that every historian has to wrestle with, but it also makes for some of the best reading historians can put out, which makes it an attractive topic to cover.

After this onslaught of content, the plan is to publish one article every Sunday, Wednesday, and Friday. I plan on theming each of them:

Sunday: book reviews

Wednesday: cultural commentary––reviews of other media as well as fictional literature, and more general commentary on cultural matters.

Friday: Political and historical discussions of various topics that will not be strictly centred around books.

I’ve promised to inject more life into this blog several times before, but I have finally gotten some of my own personal affairs settled and believe I can finally achieve my goals.

