Series Sneak Peak: Radiohead and Gorillaz

by tigermanifesto

Weather in hell varies more than I originally expected. While the usual parade of slate grey skies has kept up its plodding march, there are signs of hope on the horizon. For one, a couple of people my Hungry Ghost friends knew, who had been here several thousand years, have suddenly vanished. Granted, they were on vacation in what are reputed to be bear-infested mountains, but those bears would pose them no danger. Every day they remain missing brings new hope to the rest of the ghosts. We all pray for a mass exodus, particularly those of us like me who are here more because of poor worldbuilding and cosmic coincidence than unquenched desires.

Yet I remain, soldiering on day after day, thinking and planning and working. I know there’s no way out, so I’ve tried to make myself at home here in the infernal doldrums. These writings are crucial sanity-reinforcement mechanisms, and I hope that you won’t think me disingenuous when I thank each and every one of my readers for their patient dedication and love of culture. Truly, you are to be saluted.

And a good audience deserves good content. Starting next week, after a short Friday post, will be a new series examining style-bending British groups Gorillaz and Radiohead dealt with issues of fame, wealth, and political anxiety in their music. This should be at least three posts long. One on Radiohead, one on Gorillaz, and another where I directly compare two of their albums. Their musical expressions took parallel turns in certain cases, and both are led by highly socially conscious lead singers.

I’m excited to see where this will lead. Stick around and find out with me.

 

